Skip to content

Professor Fritz Vahrenholt Joins GWPF Academic Advisory Council

The Global Warming Policy Foundation

The Global Warming Policy Foundation is pleased to announce that Professor Fritz Vahrenholt has joined the GWPF’s Academic Advisory Council.

Professor Fritz Vahrenholt was one of the founders of the environmental movement in Germany. In the 1980s his bestseller Seveso ist überall (Seveso is everywhere) triggered a debate which led to a fundamental reorientation of the chemical industry towards sustainable development.

Dr Vahrenholt holds a PhD in chemistry and is Honorary Professor at the Department of Chemistry at the University of Hamburg. Since 1969 he has been a member of the Social Democratic Party (SPD). From 1976 until 1997 he served in several public positions with environmental agencies such as the Federal Environment Agency, the Hessian Ministry of Environment and as Deputy Environment Minister and Senator of the City of Hamburg. He then held top management positions in the renewable energy industry.

Vahrenholt is a member of the Germany Academy of Technical Sciences and the Senate of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft. His 2012 book The Neglected Sun sparked a broad public discussion in Germany about the dogmatism in climate science. He is currently the Chairman of the German Wildlife Trust.

The GWPF Academic Advisory Council is composed of scientists, economists and other experts who provide the GWPF with timely scientific, economic and policy advice. It reviews and evaluates new GWPF reports and papers, explores future research projects and makes recommendations on issues related to climate research and policy.

The other members of the GWPF Academic Advisory Council are:

Professor David Henderson (Chairman)

Adrian Berry

Sir Samuel Brittan

Sir Ian Byatt

Professor Robert Carter

Professor Vincent Courtillot

Professor Freeman Dyson

Professor Christopher Essex

Christian Gerondeau

Dr Indur Goklany

Professor William Happer

Professor Terence Kealey

Professor Deepak Lal

Professor Richard Lindzen

Professor Ross McKitrick

Professor Robert Mendelsohn

Professor Sir Alan Peacock

Professor Ian Plimer

Professor Paul Reiter

Dr Matt Ridley

Sir Alan Rudge

Professor Nir Shaviv

Professor Philip Stott

Professor Henrik Svensmark

Professor Richard Tol

Dr David Whitehouse